One year on

2016collage

I’ve been neglecting my blog recently. Not only I was really busy with work but I also gravitated towards blogging on Google Cloud Platform (GCP) blog. I will continue writing on GCP blog but it is my goal in 2017 to write here more often on broader tech and non-tech related topics.

As some of you might know, I started working at Google as Developer Advocate for Google Cloud almost a year ago. As we start the new year and as I get closer to my one year anniversary at Google, I thought this would be a good time to reflect on the past year.

2016 has been a crazy ride for me. I had a feeling that this job would be fun and different from any of my previous jobs but I never imagined that it would be this great in so many ways.

My job involves speaking/teaching at tech conferences which requires quite a bit of travel. In 2016, I visited 33 cities in 21 countries. I probably traveled to more places in 2016 than all my life combined before.

I was a speaker/teacher/attendee in dozens of conferences. Preparing for so many conferences wasn’t easy but rewards in the end were great. I was never exposed to this number of diverse conferences in this short amount of time. I learned a lot and got to meet a lot of talented engineers from all over the globe.

In terms of my talks, I had a lot of topics to choose from because Google Cloud is a huge platform with so many different pieces. I gravitated towards Kubernetes, gRPC, Node.js and Dataflow talks. Due to my .NET background, I started supporting our .NET story on Google Cloud more recently and I expect this to continue this year.

Being a Developer Advocate means you need to juggle many different tasks all at once. In a day, you might be finding yourself writing code for a demo, submitting talks to a conference, writing friction logs for a product or attending a customer meeting while figuring out your next travel plans. And sometimes you have to do all of this on the road. I have to admit, there were times I was stressed. There was a week where I was in 4 different cities in 4 different countries and I was overwhelmed. But I learned my lesson. This year, I will try to be planned with my travels and make sure to plan for recovery time as it’s really important.

Overall, 2016 has been a very exciting, rewarding and productive year for me professionally. 2017 is already shaping up to be an even better year and in one of my next posts, I’ll talk about some of the cool conferences that I’m excited to be part of in 2017.

One thought on “One year on

Leave a Reply

