Android API and java.beans package #2

In one of my previous posts, I talked about how the Android API lacks support for java.beans package and I outlined some possible solutions to it. Turns out that Apache Harmony has java.beans package implemented under Apache license which means you can port and use these classes in Dalvik, as long as you have the license information in the source code. So, that’s the route I took and for those interested in where the code is it’s under /classlib/modules/beans/src/ of Apache Harmony source download.

9 thoughts on “Android API and java.beans package #2

  1. does it works for you? lots of classes in java.beans has reference to the org.apache.harmony.beans.internal.nls.Messages which has a reference to the org.apache.harmony.kernel.vm.VM to get the resource bundle. How did you get pass that? Thanks.

  2. For now, I changed this line:

    final ClassLoader loader = VM.bootCallerClassLoader()

    To this:

    final ClassLoader loader = null; // VM.bootCallerClassLoader()

  3. Hi, I have hit the same issue and I would like to know if anyone has found something. As same as Charles, my show-stopper is that some classes that Introspector depends on, has a dependency on java.awt.Image.

  4. it cannot work!!!
    here the log :
    Dx 1 error; aborting
    Conversion to Dalvik format failed with error 1
    waiting for your help,thanks

Leave a comment